How to Whip up a Recipe App in React ?

How to Whip up a Recipe App in React ?

Screen Shot 2022-02-22 at 10.19.57 AM.png

Hello πŸ‘‹ In this article, I would like to share the details of my project Food Recipe application.

🌐 [foodapprecipe.netlify.app] 🌐 (Link)

Why a Recipe App ?

A little background about me ( a self-taught) web developer, an ex-hotelier and a foodie who did not know coding at all. I took it upon myself to learn something new during the lock-down in 2020. I had always been passionate about tech and programming in general, however I always thought that you need a computer science degree in order to break it into tech until I found otherwise.

After being laid off from the hotel industry during Covid-19, I started a home catering business cooking multiple dishes from Asian to Mediterranean and some baking too :). I am still running my small business till now, that is why I came up with the idea of combining the two.

How is it Built ?

React

React a JS framework I just started to learn it few months back, and I thought why not try a project using react and API fetch.

API Fetch Method

Screen Shot 2022-02-22 at 2.10.31 PM.png

This APIhas many methods that allows to send data back by the type requested.

For example if you search by meat on the App:

You will get the data as below

Screen Shot 2022-02-22 at 2.14.54 PM.png

Netlify

I use Netlify to deploy my websites/apps/projects on a daily basis in order to post online. It is easy to use and very very fast to load. That is what I like about it and it's Free for everyone.

☠️ Challenges Along Building the App

One of the challenges that I went through is using react hooks {useState & UseEffect} , I forgot to mention earlier that I am a beginner or like a noob in today's term.

Having the idea and building the project is totally two different things, and that is where the challenge lies. I have googled how to store recipes, query and loading on the app I am creating.

I had multiple failures loading the app and checking the console to see so many red errors😡

Though I did not want to give up and stayed late nights trying to figure out my errors whether it was typo mistakes or function ones.

Through stackoverflow and medium blog I have found the answers needed and adjusted my app.

 const [isLoading, setIsLoading] = useState(false);
  const [query, setQuery] = useState("");
  const [recipes, setRecipes] = useState([]);

πŸ‘½ Conclusion

This is my first time entering a hackathon and discovering hashnode site too, I think the app can be upgraded to have other features and I am sure you guys will like it.

Feel free to comment and try the app , I welcome everyone to give me feedback, suggestions or even become my connection.

Things you don't know about me:

  • I have 14 years experience in the hotel industry.
  • I have lived in 6 different countries.

Like the post with rockets and let's aim for the moon πŸŒ‘

#netlify #reactjs #netlifyhackathon #foodapp

Β